Patrol Services Division

Uniformed Patrol Division


Uniformed Patrol is the backbone of the Police Department and follows the Department's Community Oriented Policing philosophy. Patrol Officers are assigned to zones which patrol specific areas of the city with all other Divisions and Units acting as a support structure for Patrol. This strategy provides the officers with an opportunity to familiarize themselves with their particular neighborhood's problems, as well as allowing the residents or business owners of a neighborhood to get to know the officers who work the area. The officers take pride in the neighborhoods they are responsible for and enjoy meeting residents and business owners. Uniformed Patrol handles the majority of the 140,000 police service calls which occur in the city each year.

In addition to responding to calls for service, Officers self-initiate police action by actively searching for and arresting individuals involved with drugs, prostitution, burglary, robbery, theft, gang activity, and other miscellaneous criminal activities. Uniformed Patrol Units are also the first to arrive on scene at all critical incidents.

The process is a collaborative effort. Uniformed Patrol Units who initially arrive at critical incidents handle the incidents directly or, if additional support is necessary, will stabilize the situation until support services, such as the Special Operations Division, the Criminal Investigations Division, the S.W.A.T. Team, the Crime Scene Investigations arrive to continue the investigation or the Mobile Command Center becomes necessary.

K-9


Police K-9's are a valuable resource for use in violent criminal apprehension, evidence detection, explosives detection and search and rescue operations. Police dogs and their Police Officer handlers have extensive training and are an invaluable asset to the Police Department.


Neighborhood Team Leaders


NTL-Group
The Hollywood Police Department uses community policing to proactively address public safety issues and improve the quality of life in Hollywood. To help in resolving often complex issues, the Department has assigned specific Police Officers to eleven neighborhoods covering the city. These Officers are called Neighborhood Team Leaders (NTL).

Neighborhood Team Leaders are trained to participate in identifying community problems. They are trained in the use of CPTED (Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design) and problem solving through the use of the SARA model (Scan-Analyze-Respond-Assess). These officers act as liaisons for the variety of resources needed to solve community safety issues.

NTLs take a holistic approach to neighborhood safety. They work to identify trends and look for patterns of repeat calls for specific victims, locations and offenders. Focusing on the Crime Triangle enables them to widen the opportunities to solve these problems. NTLs partner daily with the Patrol Division, Crime Analysis, Criminal Investigations Division, Code Enforcement Unit, Crime Watch and Mobile Crime Patrol. Through this approach, the community and Hollywood Police Department help each other achieve success.

The goal of community policing is to reduce crime by engaging the public as a partner rather than relying solely on aggressive law enforcement as the only solution to community problems.

NTL Map

NTLs at Work in Your Neighborhood



Lieutenant Bernstein (West):

lbernstein@hollywoodfl.org

Lieutenant Marino (East)

: jmarino@hollywoodfl.org

Sergeant Richard Losenbeck (West):

rlosenbeck@hollywoodfl.org

Sergeant John Switter (East):

jswitter@hollywoodfl.org

Neighborhood Team Leaders



North Lake


Officer Matthew Fregin: mfregin@hollywoodfl.org

South Lake


Officer Michael Sinnes: msinnes@hollywoodfl.org

Royal Poinciana


Officer Anthony Truntz: atruntz@hollywoodfl.org

Parkside


Officer James Lowndes: jlowndes@hollywoodfl.org

Liberia


Officer Andrew Archer: aarcher@hollywoodfl.org

North Central


Officer Rolando Cabezas: rcabezas@hollywoodfl.org

South Central


Officer Chuck Burrows: cburrows@hollywoodfl.org

Emerald Hills


Officer Carol Solowsky: csolowsky@hollywoodfl.org

Hollywood Hills


Officer Tomas Hernandez: thernandez@hollywoodfl.org

Park East


Officer Ryan Ostrowsky: rostrowsky@hollywoodfl.org

Hillcrest


Officer Tomas Hernandez: thernandez@hollywoodfl.org

Lawn Acres


Officer Ramiro Valdes: rvaldes@hollywoodfl.org

Beverly Park


Officer Ramiro Valdes: rvaldes@hollywoodfl.org


Washington Park


Officer Ramiro Valdes: rvaldes@hollywoodfl.org

Playland Estates


Officer Steve Regentz: sregentz@hollywoodfl.org

Hollywood Gardens


Officer Steve Regentz: sregentz@hollywoodfl.org

Boulevard Heights


Officer Anthony Gomez: agomez@hollywoodfl.org

Driftwood


Officer Tom Nettina: tnettina@hollywoodfl.org
NTL M. Fregin - Video NTL B. Rumble - Video NTL C. Owens -Video NTL T. Nettina - Video NTL M. Hazel - Video NTL M. Ferriani - Video NTL L. VanDusseldorp - VideoSaveSave